top of page

My Why Part 2

The moment I heard those words, "I want you but I wish you had better legs" still haunts me. Those hurtful words still ring in my ears whenever I want to give in or give up. From that moment in early 2010, my life was forever changed. I started Weight Watchers the next week. It was the simplest, smartest and easiest thing to help start to control my life again.

The spring of 2010 was my final year as a college water polo player. I looked at that season with a whole new set of eyes. I went into every practice as if it was my own personal training session. I worked as hard as I could. I swam as fast as I could, and I wrestled every teammate in the water with as much intensity as I possibly could. Thanks K-weibs for always battling me. I knew that as soon as I graduated, I would lose this team and I would no longer have these awesome girls pushing me during practice and games day and night. I knew I was in my glory days. What I learned through Weight Watchers helped me make sure that I didn't over indulge after practice. I got a salad at every meal and tried to make healthier decisions. Between weight watchers and water polo, I had lost 20 pounds by the time I graduated in May.

Once I graduated, I thought it would be harder to keep the weight off and lose even more but to my surprise, it was actually easier. I was able to cook and prep all of my own meals and I wasn't surrounded by constant social drinking events. I found a great gym on my way home from work, a Zumba class on Saturday and my love for rock climbing. I had it figured out. It was exactly what I needed when I needed it.

In 2011, I moved to a new state with my now husband and had to rediscover my healthy lifestyle. That was another challenge in my road to health but it never set me back. We were very much in the puppy love stage and went out to dinner A LOT. He was getting ready for his first deployment so any reason to celebrate involved food. I gained some of the weight back but nothing I couldn't handle working off once he left. Whenhe left for deployment, I truly discovered my love of fitness. It was no longer a chore and more of a habit. I was stronger and more confident than I had ever been. From 2011 to 2014, I explored every aspect of fitness, from group classes, to team kickball. I had a full time job but enjoyed the time I was in the gym so much more than when I was at work.

In 2014, my husband and I moved to a small town with a lot less fitness options but I was determined to keeppursuing my dreams. In June, we had a wonderful surprise -- we found out we were expecting our first child. The first trimester I was pregnant I dreaded gaining weight. I hated watching the scale rise. I thought I was truly sliding back to where it all began. I felt so alone and so scared without anyone to talk to. Then I met one of my greatest friends, Sarah. She is a personal trainer and spin instructor. I loved her classes as well as her friendship. Before I knew it, I was taking her spin classes 5 times a week and walking with her almost everyday of the week. She was the friend I longed for so dearly. She encouraged me and guided me through my whole pregnancy. She reassured me that the weight would come off and I would do it all over again.

In February of 2015 we welcomed our beautiful daughter and my fitness journey took a different turn. I loved fitness and wanted to be a role model for her and others. I wondered how I could combine my love of fitness and my love of helping other people. It took me almost the whole first year of her life to figure it out but I finally did in 2016. January of 2016 I decided to become a personal trainer as well as a spin instructor. I got spin certified in April and personal training certified in May.

And here we are today. I am now teaching 2 circuit, 2 TRX and 2 spin classes a week as well as working with online clients and challenge groups. I have a 12 week at home fitness plan available for purchase on my website. I am working on a wedding ready program as well that focuses on toning abs and arms to feel the most confident whether you are in a wedding dress, bridesmaid dress or mother of the bride/groom dress. I'm working towards a nutrition certification so I can help people in all aspects of fitness and health. I love helping people feel better about themselves. It's why I wanted to get into this business.

I hope that sharing my story will help others. If I can help you, please reach out to me... it would be my pleasure!

xoxo

Katie

(a few pictures from these years)

bottom of page